Emerging leaders begin their work next week

The 28 members of the 2021-22 Emerging Leaders Academy (ELA) class will begin their work next week during a half-day session Thursday, Aug. 26, and a full-day session on Friday.

Since 2009-10, the office of the senior vice president and provost has sponsored the leadership training program for faculty and professional and scientific staff -- both those currently in leader roles and those aspiring to them. ELA operated virtually last year due to the pandemic.

The group meets monthly during the academic year to learn about aspects of leadership theory and practice, including communication, budgeting, performance management, presentations, ethics and building an environment/culture. It's led by Rod Bagley, professor of veterinary clinical sciences, and Katharine Hensley, faculty success coordinator in the provost's office. Topical experts from on and off campus lead some of the sessions. As part of the ELA learning experience, small teams also complete capstone projects that address campus needs.

The members of this year's ELA class are:

  • Sarah Bennett-George, associate teaching professor in apparel, events and hospitality management
  • Eric Bentzinger, senior director of development, ISU Foundation
  • Darren Berger, associate professor (dermatology) in veterinary clinical sciences
  • Jan Boyles, associate professor and director of graduate education, Greenlee School
  • Jordan Brooks, director of equity and inclusion and multicultural student success, College of Design
  • Tina Coffelt, associate professor of English
  • Amanda DeGraff, associate director of institutional research
  • Terry Fernando, director of undergraduate teaching laboratories, chemistry department
  • Greg Forbes, director of enrollment research and analytics, enrollment management
  • Brad Freihoefer, director of the Center for LGBTQIA+ Student Success
  • Amanda Knief, director of the lectures program
  • John Lawson, director of finance, Ames Laboratory
  • Michelle Lenkaitis, senior manager of custodial services, facilities planning and management
  • Bernard Lidicky, associate professor of mathematics
  • Ana Luz, associate teaching professor in industrial design
  • Gustavo MacIntosh, professor of biology, biophysics and molecular biology
  • Dan Nettleton, Distinguished Professor and department chair, statistics
  • Debbie Nistler, director of education extension in 4-H youth development
  • Jon Perkins, associate professor of accounting and Faculty Senate president-elect
  • Jamie Sass, director of the communications center, Ivy College of Business
  • Jeanne Serb, associate professor and director of the office of biotechnology
  • Jennifer Shane, associate professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering
  • Anupam Sharma, associate professor and director of undergraduate education, aerospace engineering
  • Lisa Smith, senior manager of library information technology
  • Jeff Sorensen, manager of web development services,  IT services
  • Brad Steward, finance and budget specialist, operations and finance division
  • Pak Tavanapong, professor of computer science
  • Katie Whipple, director of the Academic Success Center

Recruiting for next year's cohort will begin in February 2022.