New 'emerging leaders' group has launched

Twenty-seven faculty and staff were selected to participate in the 2020-21 cohort of Iowa State's Emerging Leaders Academy (ELA). The group began the program virtually Sept. 3.

ELA, established in 2009, is an academic-year initiative to better prepare faculty and P&S staff currently serving in leadership roles at Iowa State or who aspire to hold leadership positions in the future. Participants attend monthly sessions on topics associated with leadership theory and practice, communication, formal presentation, understanding environment and culture, budgeting and resource management, performance management and ethical leadership.

Participants also complete capstone projects that address university needs and support Iowa State's strategic plans. Recent projects have focused on promoting diversity and inclusion in the Student Innovation Center, creating welcoming events for international students, an e-book on ISU history through diverse lenses and a succession plan for separated employees.

ELA is led by faculty director Rod Bagley, professor and chair of veterinary clinical sciences; and Katharine Hensley, faculty success coordinator in the office of the senior vice president and provost. Members of this year's class are:

  • Sarah Adams, Ivy College of Business undergraduate program
  • Abram Anders, English
  • Bradley Blitvich, veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine
  • Soma Chaudhuri, computer science
  • Kristin Doerder, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences administration
  • Monica Haddad, community and regional planning
  • Brian Housholder, facilities planning and management
  • Chris Johnsen, ISU Extension and Outreach store
  • Karen Kedrowski, Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics
  • Thomas Koschny, Ames Laboratory
  • Lorraine Lanningham-Foster, food science and human nutrition
  • Karin Lawton-Dunn, Graduate College career services
  • Huifang Mao, marketing
  • Amber Miller, provost's office
  • Eric Olson, apparel, events and hospitality management
  • Rita Phillips, ISU Book Store
  • Andrea Rich, sponsored programs administration
  • Tim Shepherd, agricultural and biosystems engineering
  • Karina Silva, English
  • Heather Smith, office of university counsel
  • Shelley Taylor, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences global programs
  • Brian Vanderheyden, student wellness
  • Tim Van Loo, athletics
  • Austin Viall, veterinary pathology
  • Rachel Vos Carrillo, human development and family studies
  • TJ Wertz, information technology services
  • Andrea Wheeler, architecture