Search begins for next Engineering dean

Iowa State has launched the search for its next James and Katherine Melsa Dean of Engineering. The successful candidate will succeed Sarah Rajala, who last month announced her retirement at the end of the 2018-19 academic year.

The process will begin with the nomination of high-quality candidates, followed by a review of applications and interviews of semifinalist and finalist candidates in early 2019. The Nashville-based search firm of Buffkin/Baker will assist the committee throughout the process.

"The Melsa Dean of Engineering is a high-profile position, both on Iowa State's campus and in the international engineering community," said senior vice president and provost Jonathan Wickert. "We are looking for an accomplished leader who will build on Dean Rajala's successes and take the college's academic and research programs to even higher levels."

Nominate a dean candidate

Members of the campus community are encouraged to submit nominations of talented candidates to any member of the search committee.

Luis Rico-Gutierrez, dean of the College of Design; and Gary Mirka, professor of industrial and manufacturing systems engineering and former associate dean and department chair; will co-chair the search. Joining them on the search committee are:

  • Julie Dickerson, professor, electrical and computer engineering
  • Jeff Gust, MidAmerican Energy, Engineering college's Industrial Advisory Council
  • Jahmy Hindman, Deere & Company, Engineering college's Industrial Advisory Council
  • Jocelyn Jackson, graduate student, mechanical engineering
  • Teona Jerman, undergraduate student, civil, construction and environmental engineering; and co-president, Engineering Student Council
  • Jenny Johannsen, senior lecturer, aerospace engineering
  • Clayton Johnson, academic adviser, Engineering student services
  • Duane Johnson, professor, materials science and engineering
  • Monica Lamm, associate professor, chemical and biological engineering
  • Valery Levitas, Distinguished Professor, aerospace engineering
  • Mark Mba-Wright, associate professor, mechanical engineering
  • Mike O'Donnell, associate director, Center for Industrial Research and Service
  • Pratik Ray, associate scientist, U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory
  • Jennifer Shane, associate professor, civil, construction and environmental engineering
  • Michelle Soupir, associate professor, agricultural and biosystems engineering
  • Gloria Starns, senior lecturer, mechanical engineering