Congratulations, emerging leaders class

Twenty-five faculty and staff have been chosen to participate in the next cohort of Iowa State's Emerging Leaders Academy (ELA).

ELA is an academic-year initiative to develop faculty and professional and scientific staff currently serving in leadership roles at Iowa State, or who aspire to hold leadership positions. Beginning this August, participants will attend monthly sessions on leadership theory and practice, current issues in higher education and university-related challenges and opportunities. Each participant also benefits from a mentoring relationship during the year with a current Iowa State leader. The program is sponsored by the office of the senior vice president and provost.

The 2013-14 ELA class members are:

  • Jason Alread, architecture department
  • Lequetia Ancar, College of Engineering student services
  • Nicola Bowler, materials science and engineering department
  • Ann Bugler, College of Human Sciences administration
  • Greg Davis, library
  • Daniela Dimitrova, Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication
  • Chad Gasta, world languages and cultures department
  • Caroline Hayes, mechanical engineering department
  • Stacy Joiner, U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory
  • Steven Kovarik, electrical and computer engineering department
  • Brandi Latterell, facilities planning and management
  • Catherine Logue, veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine department
  • Elizabeth Lonergan, animal science department
  • Jennifer Margrett, human development and family studies department
  • Sree Nilakanta, supply chain and information systems department
  • Mark Petri, Iowa Energy Center
  • Jennifer Plagman-Galvin, College of Human Sciences administration
  • Dan Ryan, College of Business administration
  • Eulanda Sanders, apparel, events and hospitality management department
  • Dorrance Smith, College of Human Sciences administration
  • Jacob Vogel, veterinary clinical sciences department
  • Tong Wang, food science and human nutrition department
  • Susan Wohlsdorf-Arendt, apparel, events and hospitality management department
  • Joseph Zambreno, electrical and computer engineering department
  • Andrew Zehr, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences administration

John Schuh, Distinguished Professor emeritus in educational leadership and policy studies, will lead the program. Schuh worked with an earlier leadership development program called Shared Leadership for Institutional Change.

"ELA graduates can be found throughout Iowa State's academic programs and administration," Schuh said. "Nurturing the next generation of university leaders will help sustain ISU as a premier land-grant institution and propel the university to even greater achievements in the future."

The provost's office established the ELA program in 2009 to help prepare a broader and more diverse group of faculty and staff for leadership roles across campus. The 2013-14 ELA class is the program's fourth.