Advancing One Community Award recipients announced

Recipients of this year's Advancing One Community Awards will be honored Jan. 24 (4 p.m., Memorial Union Sun Room) during the Martin Luther King Jr. Legacy Convocation. All are invited to attend.

Since 2006, Iowa State has honored students, groups and faculty or staff members who demonstrate a commitment to King's principles and goals to create an inclusive multicultural community, and to reduce injustice and inequity at Iowa State. Winners receive a $500 stipend and a plaque. This year's recipients are:

  • Student: Arun Sethuraman, a graduate student in the department of ecology, evolution and organismal biology, has served as president of the Indian Student Association. He promotes an understanding and knowledge of the Indian culture, and has created a support network for Indian students. He also educates members of the Indian community about homophobia and xenophobia.
  • Faculty/staff member: Joel Geske, associate professor, Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication, is a consistent advocate for community members who identify as LGBT. Through his scholarship, teaching, service and initiatives, he consistently shows a commitment to diversity, inclusion and institutional self-awareness.
  • Group: Alpha Sigma Kappa, a sorority for women in technical studies, encourages young women and girls to consider STEM careers. The organization also has developed a support structure for women in technical fields.
  • Group: Lambda Theta Phi fraternity has worked to improve Iowa State's community for Latino students since its founding in November 2011. The group helped develop the Latino Leadership Retreat and supports Latino Heritage Month activities. The group also is active in community service and voter registration on campus.

Nominations for the 2014 Advancing One Community Award recipients will be accepted later this fall. More information about the awards, including eligibility requirements and past winners, is available online.